Ostatnie wpisy

16 mar 2016

NEWS: NefariousRealm Premiere ÉOHUM 'Ode To A Martyr' (French Horn Black Metal) New EP 'Ealdfaeder' Out March 18th

Montreal black metallers Éohum have teamed up with Nefarious Realm for the premiere of their fourth single 'Ode To A Martyr' off their upcoming EP 'Ealdfaeder' set for release on March 18th.

Band founder and guitarist Jeremy Perkins comments:

"Ode To A Martyr" is the more doom influenced black metal song of the EP. With a deep guttural and low tone harmony we unleash the pure black riffs with our usual ease.

Thematically I bring forth the realities behind the ; annihilation of tradition, the symbiotic relationship a populace has with their hunting grounds and the loss of this relationship due to dogmatic and political rule.

The title reflects to me those whom have gone far to push an idea or stance on socio-cultural  aspects and that finally made great change liberating us of tyranny and oppression."

To listen to 'Ode To A Martyr', please visit the following link via Nefarious Realm: http://nefariousrealm.com/666/premiere-blackened-doomers-eohum-offer-ode-to-a-martyr/

1. Eurocide (6:16)
2. Unmasking A World Of Deceit (6:10)
3. The Apathetic Plague (7:41)
4. Ode To A Martyr (4:34)
5. Curative Undulations (4:39)
EP Length: 29:22
For more info, please visit http://www.facebook.com/eohumband.


Formed in 2010, Éohum (pronounced ee-o-um) is a traditionalist and cultural identitarian band produced from the mind of guitarist Jeremy Perkins to create a relentless, anthemic groove -doom- tinged black metal to emphasize a message clearly depicting people's lack of interest in the past relationship we held with nature and our ancestral ways.

Originally written as a literal, poetic project by Perkins, his surrounding friends at the time having musical roots and a background in metal, then sprouted the idea for him to create Éohum.

“A book became a music release! Now with a full lineup we have a sound, that is distinct, that is ours.” says Perkins

All written and arranged by Perkins, Éohum debut their release “Revelations, Aurora Of An Epoch” in April 2015 that featured a collective of musicians that included guest vocals from Matt McGachy (Cryptopsy) (Tracks 3-4-5-7), Lana Edwards (Intro & Outro), Phillippe Rieder (Track 6), Nick Wybo (ex-Vinyl Hero) on drums, Annie Perreault on French Horn/Trumpet, Sylvain Dumont on guitar, James Heymans on bass and Perkins himself on guitar plus a live line up that featured drummer Simon Mackay (The Agonist) and vocalist Barrie Butler (ex : Tard).

With so much talent from various backgrounds, Éohum blended the most gruesome with the cleanest of black and doom metal to create hypnotic riffs with seducing horns that was injected into the veins of metal fans.

Now in 2016 with their new EP ‘Ealdfaeder’ set for release on March 18th, Éohum features a line up with Perkins (guitar) and the return of Perreault (French Horn/Flute), Dumont (Guitar), Butler (Vocals) plus new comers Cesar Franco (bass) and Luca Belviso (drums) whom have made up the band up for a year now plus a special guest recording from drummer Simon Mackay (The Agonist) on tracks 2-4-5 for the release. All are focused on the distinct grassroots of old school, very heavy progression that has flourished since last year to give way to a distinct path, sound and image with each member sharing common ground on the message, beliefs and ideas behind Éohum.

“The EP speaks generally about the lost voice of past cultures who were colonized and the decaying relationship humanity has with nature due to the societies we live in. The loss of traditions we held and relationships we had with nature.” comments Perkins.

Lyrically the EP is inspired by poems written by Perkins on the loss of culture and tradition due to greed and colonization across the globe.

1- Eurocide :This song speaks of the lost traditions within the distinct smaller cultures of Europe’s in the past colonization periods thousands of years ago, where they lost their relation to nature, faiths and ways of life.

2- Unmasking a world of deceit : Reveals the trading in of our beliefs; ways, quality of food and lifestyles for a fist of coins, routine and fear filled faiths of today’s world.

3- The Apathetic Plague : A song descrying the effects of colonization and capitalism on countries across the globe and the loss of land and ancient people's perspectives, like for example the Amazon.

4- Ode To A Martyr: A look at today’s deprived, pill driven, technological populace.Humanity leaving behind its core and self-preservation for these delusional lifestyles.

5-Curative Undulations: Speaks of humanities relation to nature and musical traditions and the primordial ways we used healing with music. Curative undulations which means, healing, music/sound waves.

Éohum is recommended for fans of black, doom and death metal in the vein of bands such as God Seed, Death, Hate Forest, Immortal, Neurosis.

Fun Fact About Band Name: Éohum means many Yew trees in old English, Yew tree is the Tree of Life for the English tribes of our past predating most of the Celt languages which blended Latin to their own afterward.

The E without the accent would mean many war horses, so that’s why there is an accent, not because it’s a French word.

Brak komentarzy:

Prześlij komentarz